Just Showing My Age

100_1751.jpg

We pulled out a “new” old toy for Shaela to play with the other day. One of the movable parts is a dial like from a rotary phone. Brandon asked me to guess which piece of the toy he was going to play with first and I said the phone dial. He looked at me like I had two heads, clearly seeing nothing that resembled a phone. Yes, it was quite an ordeal to explain to an 8 year old and a 5 year old how an old time phone dial worked. Finally, in all seriousness:

8 year old Ryan: Is that what they had when you were little?

Me: Yes, I remember when push button phones were really new and cool.

Ryan: Oh, I guess I had alway thought they used sun dials back then.

Thank goodness I didn’t mention that talking on the phone in the car used to be something that only really rich people did and needed a device bigger than a shoe box, Daddy shoes, not Shaela’s.

One thought on “Just Showing My Age

Leave a Reply

