16 thoughts on “H-A-double L-O-W-double E-N spells “Halloween”!

  1. I have been looking for a recording of this song for a long time. Thank you for posting the song. Is it possible to download the song (or the record) from a web site?

  2. My kids love this song and so do I! I thought I was the only one who remembered this song as a kid. It’s nice to know it was such a hit. Thank you for the download so we can listen to our heart’s content!

  3. Im so glad this song is still around. It took me sooo long to find it and to hear it again. Its like visiting my kindergarden class again..

  4. i remember singing this in elementary school in Florida back in the early 1970’s. I still sing it today to remember how to spell it and I am 43½yr old

  5. I remember when I was a fifth-grader learning this song… it helped me spell Halloween! The music teacher had us do some motions at the beginning of the song (“wade through the moat” “open the creaky door”) that I thought were lame at the time but looking back on it, it’s better than sitting there listening to sounds. She made it a story! 😀

  6. Glad I didn’t have the only crazy music teacher who taught us this song! I don’t remember the exact year I learned it, probably 1985! Now I’m 33, teaching it to my 6 1/2 year old!

  7. Does anyone remember the story about the monster with one big eye that just blinked? Music teacher use to play it every Halloween in elementary school. Thank you!

    1. It’s called “A Weird Happening,” and it’s on the same album: Halloween: Games, Songs and Stories (Golden Records, 1969). I have that track as well as Little Orphan Annie (from the same album), but am searching desperately for the whole album (either an MP3 download or the physical album itself)…..sadly, I haven’t had any luck yet!

  8. what is the music that goe’s with this? like the tune? i heard it on a commercial recently for a car, and it sent me back to grade school. we sang this every year at halloween for the whole school, we also watched a play, or dance with this music as the song with skeletons and bats and stuff, i just love it!!!

Leave a comment